Here goes everything

Before I go into what is going on in my life right now, let me give you a little history on the life of Liz:

When I was 19 I felt called to work with women. Lots of women. Lots of different kinds. That role has looked a lot different in various seasons in my life, but for the last year and a half it has been working at Womens Resource Center. For those of you who don’t know what I do there, I am an advocate. I respond to sexual assault victims, I volunteer at our domestic violence shelter, I speak at rehabs and colleges and I go to events to represents WRC. I am very passionate about doing it. I love working with women who have come out of trauma. I love educating on that subject. I love being the hands and feet of Jesus. It is very trying. I have questioned myself, my faith, and my purpose so many times in the midst of doing my work. Nothing has stopped me. I know I was built for this work and I am so content with it.I have see the most bruised and battered bodies, I have stood before the district attorney as she has thrown out cases, I have watch women leave group therapy feeling liberated, I have seen womens eyes glow in the comfort of my understanding, I have watched people stand in awe at statistics of the truth, I have been through a beautiful season of learning and growing. Learning that God is still sovereign and that I am nothing without Him.

So I work at a restuarant. I dont get paid for all that stuff. That part is the hardest. Burning the candle at both ends day after day is not healthy. I am distractred at my actual job because all I ever want is to be back at the shelter or in front of a class speaking. I have sacraficed a lot to do this. Don’t be mistaken I have been so blessed. I enjoy all the people I interact with in every area of my life. Whether its the guests at Panera, my friends and family or the women I serve. They all are the reason I keep going. People. I love them. I cant get enough of people. I have learned so much in the last 3 years on all the crazy adventure I have been dipping into. There is still so much more.

Leap: To move quickly or abruptly from one condition or subject to another

So here we are today. Liz: needing some change. Hey something has got to give. I know God has been listening as I have been begging for the thrust to take this from volunteer to career. Everyone has been praying. I knew I had to wait and I knew when it happened it would hurt.

On Friday evening it happened. At around 3 after my final interview I got a call offering me a position as a part time/on-call house manager. Its a big pay cut and not a lot of consistent hours. I took it.

Of course this is very stressful. Am I going to be able to pay all my bills? Will I be too overwhelmed? Will I be able to ask for the time off I want? But yah know what it all doesn’t matter. I have been to blessed with always having provision. I know I always will. I cant worry about those little things. My life is going to look dramatically different than most 22 year old’s. Hell it already does. I don’t know anyone my age who is doing anything like me. Of course its going to seem impossible. Everyday. Its not in my strength anyways. So I have to give up my control (or lack there of) and surrender to the Lord.

So now I just get to be excited and thankful for this awesome opportunity.

For the many of you who have supported, prayed, listened to me rant and rave, been a shoulder to cry on, and one to lean on. Thank you. You did more than you will ever know. God has blessed me with the most beautiful friends, family and colleagues. Thank you Panera for always being flexible with my weird schedule. You always are so accommodating. This is the biggest moment of my career and without sounding like the back of a CD cover, I couldn’t have done it without you.

So here goes everything. All that I have worked toward. All the studying I did. All the relationships that have been built. My whole person is going into this next season. Come join me on the next leg of the journey. Oh and please bring tissue and water. Things are about to get real.

3 thoughts on “Here goes everything

Leave a Reply

